Back to News

Cast Announcement: on hope: a digital song cycle

Posted 23rd April 2020

West End Stars Announced for Online Musical Trilogy hosted by
The Other Palace

Casting has been announced for MPTheatricals & The Other Palace’s on hope: a digital song cycle – an unprecedented outpouring of new musical theatre pieces designed to spark hope during this global crisis. The trilogy will be live streamed on Wed 29 April, 6 May & 13 May at 7:30pm.

Curated by Matt Powell & Victoria Saxton, the trilogy blends together pre-recorded and live performances of songs written by over 60 international composers and features a cast of over 100 performers while in isolation.

The West End stars featuring in on hope: a digital song cycle includes:

Christina Bennington (Bat Out of Hell)
Rebecca Caine (Les Miserables, Preludes)
Joanne Clifton (Strictly Come Dancing, Rocky Horror Show)
Liam Doyle (Ghost)
Lauren Drew (Six, Heathers)
Alice Fearn (Come From Away, Wicked)
Scott Folan (Be More Chill)
Russell Grant (Strictly Come Dancing)
Jessica Gomes-Ng (The King & I)
Sophie Issacs (Six, Heathers)
Waylon Jacobs (Hamilton)
Kirsty Maclaren (Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour)
Carolyn Maitland (The Woman in White)
Chris Peluso (Showboat, The Woman in White)
Jodie Steele (Six, Heathers)
Danielle Steers (Six, Bat Out Of Hell)
Tosh Wanogho-Maud (Dreamgirls)

Full casting and creatives will be announced as the programme for each part is released.

Joining previously announced songwriters who have written original music for the digital song cycle are Jim Barnes (Stiles + Drewe Mentorship Award Winner, The Season) and Pippa Cleary & Jake Brunger (The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13 ¾ -The Musical).

Performances are free to watch, however MPTheatricals have launched a fundraising initiative to support the creative talent involved in the project during this challenging time.




Donate and support the artists involved

Donate Here

Songwriters include:

Amies and Clements, AJ O’Neill, Åke Andersson, Alanya Bridge, Alex Syiek, Amir Shoenfield, Amy Clare Tasker, Anne-Marie Piaza, Becca Blackmore, Bella Barlow & A.C Smith, Bella Barlow & Nikki Racklin, Benjamin Scheuer, Chris Ash & Victoria Saxton, Chris Hutchings, Cynthia Wong, Davyd Strahan-Hughes, Drew Dillon, Eleanor Griffiths, Eléonore Duizabo, Emily Rose Simons, Grace Joy Howarth, Gus Gowland, Hilmi Jaidin, Izzy Owen, Jaime Lozano & Neena Beber, janine browne (jb), Jean-Paul Mark Shlom, Joe Howlett, Joe McNeice & Matt Spalding, Jon Hare, Jonathan O’Neill & Issac Savage, Jordan Li-Smith, Jude Taylor, Kath Haling, Kerry Kazmierowicztrimm & Earl Marrows, Keurim Hur & Tidtaya Sinutoke, Kevin Velez, KS Lewkowicz, Laura Barati & TJ Rubin, Leanne Sedin, Lewis Cornay, Lillia Woodbury, Luke Disomma, Maisy Beth Crunden, Meg McGrady & Laura McGrady, Michael Patrick Walker, Neil Bastian, Omar Baroud, Phoebe & Isabella Mansell, Rachel Bellman & Josh Bird, Raphael Smith, Rebecca Hart, Rob Rokicki, Sam Young, Samantha Rosenblatt & Lucy O’Brien, Sara Eeke & Giles Fernando, Sarah Middleton & Josh Sneesby, Sharon Kenny, Stew Simpson, Susannah Pearse, Tony Greenlaw, Vic Landa, Vikki Stone, William Karras + Janey Feingold, Zoe Morris & Matthew Mori, Zoe Morris & Rachel Hammond